Books · Review

DNF Review: The Force Awakens Novelisation

25734003

Synopsis:
Set years after Return of the Jedi, this stunning action-packed adventure rockets us back into the world of Princess Leia, Han Solo, Chewbacca, C-3PO, R2-D2, and Luke Skywalker, while introducing a host of exciting new characters, including Rey, Finn, BB-8 and Kylo Ren.
Darth Vader may have been redeemed and the Emperor vanquished, but peace can be fleeting, and evil does not easily relent. Yet the simple belief in good can still empower ordinary individuals to rise and meet the greatest challenges.
So return to that galaxy far, far away, and prepare yourself for what happens when the Force awakens…


So, I’ve been in a reading slump and haven’t had much time to read due to college + life stress. I finally decide I am in the mood read, I have been loving sci-fi lately and what’s better than Star Wars? I thought this would be a perfect choice. Nope nope nope.

Plot:
Let me just start off by saying, I absolutely adored the film. It’s one of my top favourites outside of the original trilogy. But man this book…
The plot is well… exactly the same as the film but boring.
Obviously, the plot is going to be the same as the film, that is the point. However, I was hoping for some ‘unseen’ extras. The changes in the book annoyed me more than anything, I wish it had just stuck to the original dialogue. As some who has watched The Force Awakens many, many times, I do actually remember a lot of the things said. The added dialogue changed the whole tone of the story for me. All of it was unnecessary and some of it made the characters seem… different. And not in a good way.
The writing is just appalling. I couldn’t get into at all. It was bloody AWFUL.
It takes so long to read too? It’s only 260 ish pages but my god it feels endless.

30% way through feelings:
Meh. So boring. I don’t understand. The story isn’t boring but the book does it no justice. Seriously considering DNFing it.
tumblr_oiyse1HarG1rszoo3o9_r1_540

Just under 50%:  I don’t think I can finish it, it’s just not fun. DNF.

Compared to some of the amazing books in the new Star Wars canon, this is just utter crap. I’m so disappointed this fell so flat for me.
I definitely recommend just sticking to the film for this one. Claudia Gray’s Star Wars novels are the best, I highly, highly recommend (beg) you read those!

BAE.gif

Rating: 2 very disappointed Stars


Let’s be friends! 

Instagram//Twitter//Goodreads

3 thoughts on “DNF Review: The Force Awakens Novelisation

Leave a comment